In a statement released Tuesday, the NFL stood behind the call that gave the Seahawks the win. With just 8 seconds left in the game, and the Seahawks trailing by 5, Seattle Quaterback, Russel Wilson, threw a Hail Mary pass into the end zone. Several players, including Seattle Wide Receiver, Golden Tate and Green Bay Safety M.D. Jennings, jumped into the air in an attempt to catch the ball.
While many say Jennings clearly caught the ball for a Green Bay interception, the ruling on the field was that of a Seahawk touchdown.
"When the players hit the ground in the end zone, according to the NFL statement, the officials determined that both Tate and Jennings had possession of the ball. Under the rule for simultaneous catch, the ball belongs to Tate, the offensive player. The result of the play was a touchdown".
Replay officials reviewed the video and also determined the play resulted in a Seattle touchdown. But many fans are sticking to their guns, saying it was clearly an interception, and therefore, a Packers win.
The NFL statement did, however, appear to acknowledge the whole situation could have been avoided, had the officials called offensive pass interference on Golden Tate, just before the catch.
"While the ball is in the air, Tate can be seen shoving Green Bay Cornerback Sam Shields to the ground", the statement reads. "This should have been a penalty for offensive pass interference, which would have ended the game. It was not called and is not reviewable in instant replay."
What's your take on the situation? Did the refs blow the call, robbing Green Bay of the victory? Or was there enough evidence that, indeed, the simultaneous catch rule was in effect? Head to our Facebook page to join the conversation.